Languages - Days, weeks, months, years

Counting the days

Though not universal, not by any means, the Charyan way of keeping time is the most widespread. A week consists of six days, a month of five weeks, and a year of nine months. There are three seasons to the year, but whether those seasons mean any definite change in the weather depends upon the location. In the capital of Broi there is a dry and a wet season, and those come and go without regard to the reckoning of years.

The solar year takes about 27 months, which means that there are three years to the solar year. The length of the normal year is thus roughly equal to the duration of a pregnancy.

A year is called ayum, the first season rayum, the second grawum and the third nitmabraum. Within the seasons the months are named: keracaji, werucaji and karicaji.

There are several names for the days, popular, magical, mystical and poetical. Popular names are: badenha(father's day), nadenha (mother's day), adenha (children's day), pandenha (God's day), paldenha (Emperor's day) and verdenha (Fertility day). Mystical names: calaush (water day), caracht (earth day), caperin (fire day), caweim (wood day), cachar or cadab (gold or metal day) and ca'adan (man's day).

Back to the contents

Optimized for Lynx.

Copyright 1998 Boudewijn Rempt.